List of All ODI World Cup Winning Captain, Player of The Match and Tournament

The ICC Men’s ODI World Cup is undoubtedly one of the most prestigious and popular tournaments in the world of cricket. Every cricketing nation aspires to claim victory in this tournament, not only for the coveted trophy but also for the fame, financial rewards, and the opportunity to nurture emerging talents within their nation.

For India, two World Cup victories hold a special place in the hearts of fans worldwide. The triumphs in 1983 and 2011 remain iconic moments in Indian cricket history. It was under the leadership of captains like Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni that Team India achieved these remarkable victories.

Now, in 2023, India has the honor of hosting the ODI World Cup once again. The team is in excellent form, and all the players are in their prime, making India a formidable force in the tournament. The expectations are high, and fans are eager to see if this talented squad can add another chapter to India’s World Cup glory.

Recently, India has showcased exceptional cricketing prowess, and their performance culminated in a resounding victory at the Asia Cup 2023. This victory marked India’s eighth title in the tournament, underlining their dominance in the Asia. Throughout the Asia Cup, India displayed their superiority by consistently outperforming their opponents. The final match, in particular, was the example of their prowess, as they secured a comprehensive ten-wicket victory.

However, winning prestigious tournaments like the World Cup demands a collective effort from the entire team. While the captain plays a pivotal role in guiding the team, key players also need to deliver stellar performances to secure victory on the grandest stage.

India’s journey in the World Cup 2023 is set to kick off on October 8, 2023. Their opening match will see them facing Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. This tournament promises to be an exciting spectacle, with the defending champions, England, commencing proceedings in the inaugural match against New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

List of All ODI World Cup Winning Captain, Player of The Match and Tournament:

YearWinning CaptainPlayer of the Match (Final)Player of the Tournament
2019Eoin Morgan (England)Ben Stokes (England)Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
2015Michael Clarke (Australia)James Faulkner (Australia)Mitchell Starc (Australia)
2011MS Dhoni (India)Yuvraj Singh (India)Sachin Tendulkar (India)
2007Ricky Ponting (Australia)Shane Watson (Australia)Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
2003Ricky Ponting (Australia)Matthew Hayden (Australia)Sachin Tendulkar (India)
1999Steve Waugh (Australia)Shane Warne (Australia)Lance Klusener (South Africa)
1996Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka)Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka)Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)
1992Imran Khan (Pakistan)Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)Martin Crowe (New Zealand)
1987Allan Border (Australia)David Boon (Australia)Craig McDermott (Australia)
1983Kapil Dev (India)Mohinder Amarnath (India)Kapil Dev (India)
1979Clive Lloyd (West Indies)Viv Richards (West Indies)Gordon Greenidge (West Indies)
1975Clive Lloyd (West Indies)Clive Lloyd (West Indies)Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

Leave a comment